Tags

, , , ,

I’m very impressed with my husband. He managed to finish a complete bathroom remodel in about 2 weeks (with some help).  I’m talking complete, as in tearing out a full bath, down to the studs, moving plumbing, new air vents, exhaust fan, installing pipes and electrical…the whole nine yards.

And he has to do it again. Well, not the demo part.

Let me explain.

Our house is 2 bedroom, 1 and a half bath. The full bathroom used to be a long, inefficient waste of space that was necessary to daily functioning. And we had to share with 2 (rapidly) growing little girls.  With a little finagling (and a brother-in-law who has CAD on his computer), we came up with a design that turned our one bathroom, linen closet, and our bedroom closet into 2 bathrooms (yay, master bath!)

Image

 

(just imagine a really long counter to the right with only one sink)

As you can see, there was no use made of the left wall, and the space was rather narrow. And please don’t ask about the “creative” texture job. It was like that when we moved in and I painted it with leftover paint from my folks’ house. It had been lavender (as you can see where I didn’t paint behind the medicine cabinet). 

Any way, here’s what my husband did (like I said, with help) :

Image

 

This view is from the same angle, only the space has been widened (thanks to closet space).  The framing in the center is what will divide the space into two bathrooms.

Image

 

And this is a view from our bedroom (used to be closet) and will now be the doorway to our own master bath 🙂

Image

 

And this is semi-finished, I think we had just finished the flooring (hence the lamp in the bathtub).

Image

 

And there it is! Since this picture, we have put a mirror up, but I haven’t quite finished decorating the bathroom yet. Also, the master bath is still in progress since the priority was to get the family bath done (I stayed at my mom’s with our girls for the 2 weeks our house was a construction site). 

Here’s my idea collage, plus a sneak peek for my ideas for the master bath:

Image

Image