Tags

, , , , ,

Hello, 2013! Ready or not, here you are! And here I am, again.  The beginning of a new year.  This could be the start of something…or I could just finish everything I started last year.  See, you are full of possibilities!

There are things about myself I wish I could change.  Like the fact that I’m not a morning person.  Or an adventurous, spontaneous person.  But, I don’t think those are the types of things you can change with resolutions.  Well, not this year, at least.  I like my sleep.  And my comfort zone.

There are other things, however, that this year I would really like to change!  About myself, my habits, my home, my relationships, etc.  So here they are.  In writing.  For the world to see.  At least, the .0000000000004 % of the world that reads my blog : )

4 simple goals (before 2014)

1. Home-cooked meals-

My goal for this is to cook dinner twice a week.  This would be huge for me since I’m not a meal planner.  And I have 2 kids under the age of 2.

-with one new recipe a month

I really want my girls to have the expansive palette their father has and expose them to food that my mom didn’t cook for me that I now love (like spinach and zucchini).

– that are healthy 

I’ve learned that most of the quick meals I make are not the healthiest and severely lacking in fresh veggies.

2.  Decorate with purpose-

In my 5 years of marriage, my husband and I have never decorated our bedroom! Not even paint or a picture on the walls.  My sister sent me a link to this website, and I have been hooked!  I’m hoping to come up with a design scheme for our bedroom and implement it this year (on a budget).  I also want to add some finishing touches to the rest of my house, and really hone in on a specific style and stick with it.

-and De-clutter

This is something we are already working on.  With an 1100 sq ft house, clutter and unnecessary items make it seem that much smaller.

3.  Learn how to use my sewing machine

I have some ideas for projects that would make decorating my house more personalized and inexpensive…if I just knew how to use the darned machine I’ve had for a year and a half…

4. Designate media time-

While I’d love to blog more, I already spend way too much time on the internet.  So this year I want to implement some media rules for our family.

-and plan family time

Which means more prep-work for me.  I am blessed to have an almost 2-year old who loves to watch movies, but now I’m getting better adjusted to having 2 kids, it’s time for me to step it up and save the movies for rainy days.  And sick days.

{inspiration}

I am really looking forward to this year!

What are some of your resolutions?

