Tags

, , , , ,

I fail miserably when it comes to doing a daily devotional.  I don’t exactly know why.  Okay, maybe I do.

They are usually about me.

How to better myself.

How to be a better Christian.

How to apply the Bible to my life so I can feel better about it.

They don’t all come out and say that this is what their purpose is.  On the contrary, they usually tout how this little book will revolutionize your time with God.

It sounds good, and there are, granted, many very good and helpful devotional books out there that meet all kinds of needs in peoples’ lives.  I know this has to be true, since I haven’t read every single one out there.

But I don’t need to work on me.  That work is already done.  And is being done.  What I need…Who I need, is Christ.  To know Him.  Live Him.  Love Him.

See, the more I learn about the One I am being perfected in, the more I learn about myself.  I don’t need to start with myself, I need to start with Him.

All this to say, I have found a daily devotional that I actually look forward to reading.

It is all about Jesus and who He is and what that means for me.

It is Charles Spurgeon’s, Morning and Evening.

It’s actually a twice daily devotional, so it is something I am reading when I wake up and before I go to bed.

I have to tell you, I am learning so much.  And I am inspired to learn more and read Scripture.

Here are some of my favorite quotes so far, I hope they do more than inspire you, but challenge you to dig deeper into the Man that is God who died for the sins of the world and is forever seated at the right hand of God, pleading the merit of His blood so that we can be called the children of God!

The hill of comfort is the hill of Calvary; the house of consolation is built with the wood of the cross; the temple of heavenly blessing is founded upon the riven rock-riven by the spear which pierced His side. No scene in sacred history ever gladdens the soul like Calvary’s tragedy.

If you will tell me when God permits a Christian to lay aside his armour, I will tell you when Satan has left off temptation.

We must sing of the finished work of the precious Saviour; and He who knows most of forgiving love will sing the loudest.

Nothing can be said in palliation or excuse of human guilt; and therefore, He who bore its whole weight stood speechless before His judge.

A Christian should be like Christ in his boldness. Never blush to own your religion; your profession will never disgrace you: take care you never disgrace that. Be like Jesus, very valiant for your God.

We give to God pence when he deserveth pounds, nay, deserveth our heart’s blood to be coined in the service of his church and of his truth. But shall we continue thus? O Lord, after thou hast so richly blessed us, shall we be ungrateful and become indifferent to thy good cause and work? O quicken us that we may return to our first love, and do our first works!

 

