Tags

, , , , , ,

I found this recipe in Reader’s Digest for chocolate cake. made in the microwave. in a coffee mug.

so it’s legit, right?

Well, yes.  So, even though this isn’t an original recipe, I wanted to share it with you because I always trust tested recipes more than ones I just read from a magazine or cookbook (even though they are there because they are tried and what-not).  Plus I took pictures.

{what you need}

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbs unsweetened cocoa

2 Tbs whisked egg

3 Tbs milk

3 Tbs oil

3 Tbs chocolate chips -or- favorite candy bar pieces

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

{what you do}

mix flour, sugar, salt and cocoa in a large coffee mug

add egg and combine until paste forms

stir in milk and oil, then add chocolate chips (or candy pieces) and vanilla

microwave on medium for 3 minutes, or until cake starts to crown over top of mug

remove, top with chocolate sauce or ice cream, if desired

{what I learned}

We use really big coffee cups.  My cake didn’t crown over the mug, and I thought I was using one of our “medium” sized ones.  So by “big”, I’m thinking more like 12-14 oz mug.

Cake in a Mug

Even though my cake didn’t crown over the top, 3 minutes was plenty of time to cook it.  And I forgot to put my microwave on medium.

2 tablespoons of whisked egg was not enough to make the paste the recipe called for.  I was tempted to add more, but had already rinsed out the egg from the bowl.  Once I added the milk and oil though, it didn’t seem to matter.

One mug of chocolate cake was more than enough for my husband and I to split into 2 bowls with added ice cream.  However, once the cake is out of the mug, it kind of hardened while we were eating it (not sure if it’s because it was out of the mug, or because of the ice cream).  But it was cooked in a microwave, so what did I expect?

Overall, this was a very yummy, super easy dessert that was fun to make and didn’t require use of my oven (add 10 points).  But we didn’t have any leftover chocolate cake for me to enjoy with my coffee the next morning (minus 900 points).

