Tags

, , , ,

I had a friend show me once how to make doughnuts from a can of Pillsbury biscuits, but never tried it myself.  The other day I came across a recipe to make them (and a glaze), so I thought I’d give it a go.

They were so easy to make! Here’s what you need:

  • Heavy skillet or pot (I used a 12” cast iron skillet that’s somewhat deep)
  • 2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2-16 oz can Pillsbury Grands Flaky Biscuits (I’ve read that using generic biscuits make “generic-tasting” doughnuts)
  • wire cooling rack
  • tongs

Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 TBS milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • various toppings (sprinkles, shredded coconut, cinnamon-sugar, etc.)

Heat the oil to about 350 degrees.  I didn’t have a thermometer, so I started the burner at about halfway and slowly moved it up.  My sister-in-law was helping and suggested sprinkling a bit of water on top.  It will instantly fizzle and that’s how you know it’s ready!

We cut holes with a small cookie-cutter in the biscuits (which were already separated into 8).  The cool thing is, the holes can be fried, too!

Once the oil was ready, we gently put 4 biscuits in.  They only take a few minutes, so just flip them with tongs when they are browned.  Set them on a cooling rack for 3-5 minutes before you dip them into glaze. 

To make glaze, mix powdered sugar, milk and vanilla extract together.  When you dip doughnuts in glaze, top with sprinkles right away (glaze sets pretty quick).  After I did about 12 doughnuts, I added some lemon extract to the glaze to give a different flavor.  You could also add a bit of food coloring at this point, as well.

After frying the doughnut holes, I immediately put them in a bowl with cinnamon and sugar; that way it would stick better.

Overall, the doughnuts are best when they are enjoyed fresh.  They were okay the next morning, but tasted more like leftover biscuits with frosting.

