Tags

, , , , , ,

Every other month (or so) I try to do what I call “Girl’s Night In” with the girls in our youth group and the college group at church.  It’s a time for them to get to know each other and hang out in an informal setting and also to do something fun and crafty!
{The background}
Growing up, I had an aunt who taught me how to sew, crochet, bake, garden…etc.  Even though I came from a great home with a wonderful mom, I am so thankful for these simple skills and the time my aunt spent teaching them to me.
{The reason}
It’s amazing to me that as women, we overlook the necessity of teaching those younger than us how to be women who are wives, mothers, homemakers, mentors, and friends.  If you don’t think it’s important-go to the bookstore.  There are a lot of other people out there who think it’s important…and they are making money telling others how to do it.
It’s not just about knowing how to change a diaper, or cook a chicken, or praying for your (future or current) spouse; but it isn’t less than that, either!
All these actions paint a picture of our spiritual lives.  Our relationship with God is manifested in our relationships with those around us.  How I treat my husband is a representation of how I view and trust God in my life.  How I raise and respond to my kids shows what I believe about God’s promises and character.  The way I keep my house and receive guests and spend my money are all expressions of where my faith in God has led me.

The priority I put on discipling and investing in those around me is a direct representation of what I know and believe and am willing to obey about the Gospel.  If I can’t be faithful in the little things (and it’s all little things at this point in my life), why would God give me bigger things (to ultimately screw up)?

